The 1910 Society

1910 Society

The 1910 Society—For Gifts to Operating, Capital and/or Endowment Funds

Founded in 1910, the Boy Scouts of America has grown into something larger and more significant than anyone anticipated. We honor that special year by presenting the 1910 Society award to donors who make gifts of $25,000 or more to their council.

These gifts can be in the form of cash, securities, land, five-year pledges, or other property suitable for a council endowment fund or easily converted to cash.

Recognition in the 1910 Society honors four very special individuals who shaped modern-day Scouting:

  1. Ernest Thompson Seton, nationally known artist and naturalist, author of the first official American Scout handbook and many other books important to Scouting;
    Seton Level: $25,000 minimum gift
  2. Daniel Carter Beard, first chairman of the National Court of Honor, national Scout commissioner, and author of many well-known books and stories for youth;
    Beard Level: $100,000 minimum gift
  3. Theodore Roosevelt, first Chief Scout Citizen, first vice president of the BSA, and U.S. president;
    Roosevelt Level: $500,000 minimum gift
  4. Waite Phillips, one of the BSA’s first benefactors, and donor to the BSA of almost 130,000 acres of land in New Mexico which became Philmont Scout Ranch;
    Phillips Level: $1,000,000 minimum gift
    Phillips Silver Level: $5,000,000 minimum gift
    Phillips Gold Level: $10,000,000 minimum gift